Recalled Gluten-Free Cheerios Linked to 125 Illnesses

tcf-no-longer-accepting-cases

October 8, 2015 — The Minneapolis Star-Tribune reports that 125 adverse events, mostly involving gastrointestinal illness, have been linked to Cheerios that were mislabeled as gluten-free when they actually contained gluten.

After receiving complaints, General Mills Inc. recalled 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios.

The products have an undeclared allergen — wheat — which contains gluten and could cause illness or severe allergic reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or Celiac disease (1% of the population). Wheat products can also cause gastrointestinal discomfort for people with gluten sensitivity (6-7% of the population).

The recall only affects cereal products produced in Lodi, California on certain dates in July 2015. Click here for a list of recalled products.

General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten-free. According to the company, “an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility.”

Consumers with wheat allergies, Celiac disease, or gluten intolerance should not consume recalled Cheerios and they should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund. Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.

 

Free Case Review

Verified 100% Secure Site

To contact us for a free review of your potential case, please fill out the form below or call us toll free 24 hrs/day by dialing: (866) 879-3040.

*
*
*